The Exeter "Conventions"

- 1. The Executive will consist of the Leader together with eight other Councillors to be nominated by the Leader and appointed by full Council.
- 2. The Leader shall allocate a seat on the Executive to a member from each political group.
- 3. The Leader shall allocate a seat on the Executive to each of the Portfolio Holders.
- 4. Executive decisions shall be made collectively at Executive meetings.
- 5. The Leader and Executive members shall NOT take executive decisions individually.
- 6. Where one group has majority control of the Executive, all Chairs and Deputy Chairs of Scrutiny Committees shall be drawn from members of the other political groups of the Council.